Strategy

Chess

So, I obviously don’t have a blogging strategy as it’s been months (nine of ‘em) since my last post, but that’s not really what this post is about.

This is essentially a bit of a “brain dump” as I work though a task that I have on my plate presently. As IT manager (beginning to operate in CIO territory) it been requested of me to provide a strategic plan for the implementation of IT resources and services here at Crossway. That’s all well and good, and I could come up anything, however it would have little value to either myself, the IT department or Crossway as a whole.

As I am learning, a strategic plan is all about defining your end-points then plotting a path from A to B (if only I could just plug those into Google Maps as start and end points). Again, that’s all well and good, but useless (maybe even harmful) if the path I plot differs from the path that Crossway as an organisation is taking.

I am blessed to be part of an organisation (let alone a church) that takes such thing seriously. As a result Crossway not only has mission and vision statements, but also a 10 point strategy for enacting that vision. That makes my strategic planning a whole lot easier. All I have to do is measure how well meet the requirements of those 10 points, analyse how we (as an IT department) can better service those requirements, and then plot a path between the two. Easy *cough*

What about you? Does your church, business, ministry, club, organisation etc have a mission, vision and/or action/strategic/business plan?

Where there is no vision, the people perish
Proverbs 29:18a KJV

2 Responses to Strategy

  1. steven Fogg says:

    Good to see you blogging again Neil! I wondered what you’ve been up to for the last 9 months!

    Like

    • Neil Nuttall says:

      Good to be back (did I every really go away, or have I just been holding my breath for a really long time?)
      I’ve got a few techy posts in mind for the next couple of weeks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

